Specialty Chapters

USOA members who share similar jurisdiction or structure have formed Chapters to facilitate networking and training among themselves. USOA currently has specialty chapters for Children & Families, Corrections, Education, Federal Government, Healthcare, and Municipal Government.

Chapters may organize special presentations and training at USOA’s annual conference and at other times during the year. Chapter chairs participate as ex officio members of the Board of Directors.

E-mail lists have been created for each chapter. Chapter members can use the e-mail list to post news articles, news releases, and links to investigative and annual reports that would be of interest to others in the field. Or they can post a question or concern and ask other chapter members to provide them with feedback or advice. These smaller, topic-specific discussion groups are a useful and helpful way to interact with colleagues in the ombudsman community.
USOA Members can click here to see a list of Chapter e-mail lists.

For information on current chapter activities, contact the chair or USOA’s Business Office.

Children and Families Chapter

Joanne MacDonnell
Deputy Ombudsman
Arizona Ombudsman Office
3737 N. 7th Street, Suite #209
Phoenix, AZ 85014
Phone: 602-277-7292
Fax: 602-277-7312
jmacdonnell@azoca.gov

Education Chapter

Judi Martin
Portland Public Schools District
Portland Public Schools
501 N. Dixon
Portland, OR 97227
Phone: 503-916-3045
jmartin@pps.net

Joyanna Smith
Ombudsman
Office of the Ombudsman for Public Education
441 4th Street NW, Suite 723N
Washington, DC 20001
Phone: 202-741-0888
Fax: 202-741-0879
joyanna.smith@dc.gov

Federal Government Chapter

Tangita Daramola
Competitive Acquisition Ombudsman
DHHS/CMS
7500 Security Blvd.
Baltimore, MD 21244
Phone: 410-786-4050
tangita.daramola@cms.hhs.gov

Healthcare Chapter

Roberta Opheim
Ombudsman
Ombudsman for Mental Health & Developmental Disabilities
121 7th Pl. E., Ste 420 Metro Square Bldg.
St. Paul, MN 55101
Phone: 651-757-1806
Fax 651-296-1221
Roberta.Opheim@state.mn.us

Municipal Government Chapter

Lin Quenzer
Ombudsman
Office of the Mayor, City of Lincoln, NE
555 South 10th Street, Suite 301
Lincoln, NE 68508
Phone: 402-441-8281
Fax: 402-441-7120
lquenzer@lincoln.ne.gov

Public Safety Chapter

Charlene Burkett
DOC Ombudsman Bureau Director
Indiana DOC Ombudsman Bureau
402 W Washington W7479
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: 317-234-3190
Fax: 317-233-6921
cburkett@idoa.IN.gov

Linda Ritchey
Intake Officer
Alaska Office of the Ombudsman
333 W 4th Ave, Ste 305
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-269-5290
Fax: 907-269-5291
linda.ritchey@akleg.gov